Skip to content

Resilience: Food Reactions

September 6, 2010

I have a bumper sticker on my car that says, “Always Remember You Are UNIQUE, just like everyone else.”   Well, it’s true isn’t it?

Food affects each of us differently, so it’s important to pay attention to how you feel after you have eaten.    Have you ever kept a food journal to document how you are feeling after a meal?  If not, it’s something to consider, and not a bad thing for your students to do when you do a nutrition unit.

I used to have a small battle on my hands with one particular student when I was teaching fifth grade who would insist on having a can of soda and chips every day at lunch.  By the time we’d resumed class in the afternoon he was bouncing off the walls and couldn’t focus at all.

I’ve had my own issues with foods that cause me to have 3-day migraines.  Now that was fun.   It was a food journal a naturopath had me keep that helped me discover the pattern and get out from under the headaches.

Not all food effects are that extreme, but they can make the difference between having a great day and a really horrid one.   The following video offers more information about the effects of food on your well-being.

Food and Mood: Alexandra Jamieson

Kathy Wong, an alternative medicine expert suggests five foods that will improve your mood and feeling of well-being.  These are

Oatmeal

Walnuts

Tea

Salmon

Lentils

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

