Skip to content

Self-care: A Mom-cation

July 6, 2010

Find time to take care of yourself.  That’s my mantra lately.  It’s not as easy to do as it is to say.

I found myself with an opportunity this morning.  My kids left to go spend their two weeks of summer with their father.  There was a time when this would have really sent me into a tailspin.  I would have been very sad.

Lately, though, I realize what a gift this is.  Back then, I mostly defined myself as being a “Mom.”  I don’t define myself solely that way any longer, and so now this time is positively a gift.

This is the time of year when I clean the kitchen and it stays clean.  I buy groceries and they don’t disappear as if by magic.  I don’t have to be on anyone’s case about picking up after themselves, or remind them it’s ok to use the garbage can.   I don’t have to run anyone any place.  I only have to take care of myself an my 13 year old cat.

So, I’m getting enough sleep.   I’m eating healthy, and nobody complains about what is on the menu.  I took a really long walk this morning.  No rush to get back, nobody calling me on the cell to say “when are you coming home?”  or “what’s for dinner?”

The reason I’m writing about this is I see teachers go through the same thing.   School gets out and some teachers don’t know what to do with themselves.

Some load themselves up with classes, to climb the pay scale, and to rev themselves up for the coming year.  There isn’t enough down time when a person chooses that path, though.

At least some of those summer months need to be spent in rejuvenating.  As Parker Palmer puts it, “re-membering” (as opposed to dismembering) yourself.

Take a good look at your summer. What is it looking like for you?  Did you build in some time to take care of yourself?   If not, there’s still time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:28 am

    What a great post. So true! I’ve been working on self-care for the past two years and it still hasn’t really sunk in.

    I was wandering the aisles of Target w/my two kids in tow and realized…I really need a break this summer. Yet, I feel guilty that I’m an inadequate mother if I need to take that break. I know that in order to be a good mom, I need to take a break so I will be renewed, but I can’t shake that feeling of “I should be able to do it all”. Why is that so ingrained in us? I’ve been leading Personal Renewal groups based on the book, The Mother’s Guide to Self-Renewal by Renee Trudeau and I know it’s so much easier to preach it than to truly practice it.

    Congratulations on your two weeks of peaceful bliss. It sounds like you are spending the time wisely and will be recharged for your little ones when they get home. Enjoy! And, I will commit to at least getting a sitter this week so I can catch a little glimpse of that rejuvenation!

  2. July 15, 2010 6:15 pm

    Sara, thank you for posting 😀 A friend of mine suggests that women in our society have been sold a bill of goods the idea that we SHOULD be able to do it all. I am beginning to reject that idea. I still feel like I should do it all sometimes, but I am struggling to overcome that notion. lol I’m going to post the book you recommend on our Personal Wellness resources section. Thanks for recommending it. Hope you made good on your ‘me time.’ You deserve it. ~Fran

Leave a Reply

