Skip to content

Avoid Burnout Tip – Meditate Yourself Into Balance

June 16, 2010

Sometimes the hardest thing to do when you are an educator, is to slow down for even a minute.  Yet, that is exactly what you need to do in order to keep your balance – to keep yourself able to deal with all the things that come your way.

If you aren’t already taking a moment to just stop and be each day, you should.  This might be informal.  Perhaps you take a little time in the morning before everyone gets going to center yourself, and to think.   The important thing is to just let your mind roam freely for a few moments, and see what it tells you.

If you aren’t practicing meditation, it might be a good idea.  Among the many benefits of meditation,  improved concentration is widely cited as a side effect.  (That beats the side effects of many medications on the market today.)   Psychology Today noted the benefits way back in 2003 –

Neuroscientists have found that meditators shift theirbrain activity to different areas of the cortex – brain waves in the stress-prone right frontal cortex move to the calmer left frontal cortex. This mental shift decreases the negative effects of stress, mild depression and anxiety. There is also less activity in the amygdala, where the brain processes fear.

So, if you aren’t already meditating, now would be a great time to give it a go.    It’s one of those things that I can tell you from experience, is an acquired taste, however, the more you practice, the more enjoyable and necessary you will find it.

Meditation Workshop offers not only information on meditation, but also provides meditation exercises for you to try, free of charge.  Go on – give it a try.  In your busy life, a little meditation goes a long ways toward shoring up your resilience.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 12:12 am

    I am so bad at regular meditation. I can’t quiet my mind on my own. I do two things: 1. music meditation and 2. progressive muscle relaxation. Music meditation is good for me because there is at least a little noise that is not abrasive for me to focus on. When it gets to quiet my mind scatters. Progressive muscle relaxation on the other hand is a process where you tense each muscle group for 15 seconds and release. Don’t ask me why but doing that makes you instantly relax…even sleep. The best part is that if you do it for 20 minutes a day…after a while all you have to do is THINK about it and your body automatically goes into that state! Really good for anxiety after a day of crazy kids.

    • June 17, 2010 2:02 pm

      I KNOW! I am a really auditory person, so I need the guidance of sound when I try too meditate. I found a guided meditation that I listen to when I need to quiet my mind. (Of course, it’s called “Quiet Mind”….) and have also used one that leads to the type of methodical muscle relaxation you described as well. I think ‘whatever it takes.’ There is no sin in using audio guidance.

Leave a Reply

