Skip to content

Avoid Burnout Tip – Quieting your Mind

June 3, 2010

I was talking with someone yesterday about how stressed out teachers can get.  And I really believe, until we begin to value teachers more in our society, and we change a few of our educational systems, that will continue to be the case, sadly.

However, stress reduction is certainly an approach that is doable.  In The Positivity Blog, Henrik Edberg explores ways to calm your mind in his post, 5 Time Tested Techniques to Control Your Mind.

While it may take us awhile to change the systems in which we operate, it takes less time to change how your mind operates.  Summer is coming.  This is one thing you can focus upon to keep yourself resilient in the coming school year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 9:49 pm

    This is a topic dear to my heart as a former sufferer from anxiety problems. The first step toward quieting your mind and reducing stress is to become aware of how your mind works. Once you understand your thought processes, its easier to let them go and just observe. So far in my student teaching, the only stress I’ve had to deal with is worrying about keeping the kids quiet and engaged. I’m at an inner city school in Los Angeles and it can get harrying, but the small victories (I thwarted a bully yesterday yay!) are what keep me happy with my career choice. I’m not a practicing Buddhist, but I will say the ideas of meditation and detachment are healthy ideas to subscribe to.

    • June 3, 2010 10:25 pm

      I think we are finding that mindfulness and meditation are helpful in so many stressful situations, and simply for keeping our equilibrium. Sounds like you have your feet firmly under you while you are student teaching. 🙂 One of the reasons I think we lose so many teachers is that stress, and the inability to cope with so much of it. Mindful practice is SO helpful.

  2. June 3, 2010 11:03 pm

    Yes, agreed completely!

Leave a Reply

