Skip to content

Research Finally Complete

June 1, 2010

Wow.  Two terms and 35 pages later, the research project is finally finished!  I’ll be sharing some results soon.

I will say that one stand out piece of data about the participants was that many of them had either changed jobs or assignments frequently.  While this is certainly not a lone indicator of impending burnout, or impending leaving of the profession, it is on rather strong indicator that perhaps a person may have a shorter teaching career.

Now, whether that is because the person is simply trying to find that ‘just right’ teaching job, or because of other reasons – we just don’t have those answers right now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Manuel Barrera, PhD permalink
    June 1, 2010 4:30 pm

    Congratulations, Fran. I am looking forward to seeing your results. Do you have a publication venue chosen yet?
    In reading your preliminary findings, it seems your results point to a broad indicator about teacher’s leaving. Of course, it will be useful to identify variables (e.g school climate, gender/ethnicity to student match, student outcomes to teacher characteristics) that seem to increase or decrease these indicator outcomes (e.g., teacher “searching” for new positions).
    Please let us know when and where this research will appear.
    Manuel

    • June 2, 2010 6:02 pm

      Thank you for your comments, Manuel. I am working on a journal article now, and where it will be published remains to be seen. This is my task for summer.

      Yes, there are many many sub-issues tied in with teacher attrition. I will be sharing them in bits and pieces until the article makes it’s way to publication.

  2. Lori permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:20 am

    Fran,

    Let me know if you need my two cents about those of us that have been to the brink and lived to tell about it. Our stories (I like to think of them as survivor stories) are important, I think, to give beacons of hope to those that are feeling the dispair that leads to attrition. You’re amazing. I think you are definatley on to something here. Doctoral work is in your future.

    • June 9, 2010 9:50 pm

      Lori – I really do want to find some stories along that line. You have inspired me. Can we use “Survivor Stories” on our website? Perhaps you will be one of our first contributors? Let me know what your thoughts are on that. I appreciate the words of encouragement. I really need them right now.

Leave a Reply

