Skip to content

Teacher Burnout Study

April 7, 2010

So, I’m in the process of doing a qualitative study related to the dynamic of teacher burnout.  In the Action Research class I’m taking, I had the opportunity to get some feedback on my interview questions.  A good question was this – “are you going to study people who have burned out but are still teaching” That’s a good question.  That won’t be happening in this particular study, but it will go on the list for further studies.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ZeroSum Ruler permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:47 pm

    I burnt out after 7 years.

    • December 9, 2010 1:40 pm

      Hi. I’m sorry to hear that – 7 seems to be the magic number. I was burned out after 7, but didn’t leave until after 10. It’s hard to know how to get out once you are in. Thank you for posting!

      By the way, I’m not sure why this showed up here – I moved my site to the wordpress.org system. Strange.

      • ZeroSum Ruler permalink
        December 9, 2010 2:51 pm

        Have you navigated around the new Idealist for WordPress? I have no idea how it works. Where did you teach? I hop that after a bit of rest I’ll be able to go back to work, but in a less stressful environment.

  2. December 9, 2010 3:04 pm

    No – I’m not familiar with “Idealist” I’ll have to check it out.

    Would enjoy talking further with you – can you email me off site at welleducator@gmail.com?

    Fran

    • ZeroSum Ruler permalink
      December 9, 2010 3:07 pm

      It’s a website to find non-profit jobs and was working pretty well up until last week when they changed their format. If you don’t mind me asking, what wa your reason for going to .org instead of staying here at .com?

Leave a Reply

